RenovationStart

What does a painting & decorating cost?

As a national mid-range guide: £3,200 to £5,000 for a typical 90 m2 project, including 20% VAT. Budget finishes start around £2,500, premium runs to £7,400, and London adds a quarter. Set your own size, finish and region below for an instant estimate, no email required.

Room being painted, roller and dust sheets

What the sources say

Checkatrade, Painting and Decorating: Cost Breakdown: £40 to £60

painting a house, per m2 of floor space (average £50); an 18 m2 room averages £450. The guide does not state its VAT treatment. Guide dated 2026-06, opened and checked 2026-08-26.

MyJobQuote, Painter and Decorator Cost Guide: £30 to £55

derived from room prices: a 10-12 m2 bedroom £350-660, a 12 m2 room about £400. The guide does not state its VAT treatment. Guide dated 2026-07, opened and checked 2026-08-26.

The national range at the top of this page is chosen inside the spread these guides publish, converted to include 20% VAT where a guide states its prices exclude it. Where guides disagree, both figures stay visible above so you can judge for yourself.

1. What are you planning?
3. Finish level

Renovating outside the UK? These figures will not fit. France · Spain

Painting & decorating, mid-range, Midlands

£3,200 to £5,000

Including 20% VAT. An indication, not a quote: prices vary per trade and property.

Take it further

Nothing here is saved unless you ask. With a free account you can keep this estimate and come back to it later.

Prices include 20% VAT. New builds and some energy-saving works can qualify for 0% or reduced VAT; ask your installer.

On top of whatever you agree with a builder, set aside a contingency of 10% for the unforeseen: surface-level work with little opening up; the lower end of the guidance range is usually enough. How much contingency you need explains the guidance.

What drives the price

  • Preparation: filling, sanding and priming is where good decorators earn their rate.
  • Ceilings, woodwork and walls each price differently; whole-room is the honest unit.
  • Paint quality: designer brands double the material cost, not the labour.
  • Occupied rooms: moving furniture and masking adds real hours.

All figures come from the same validated 2026 price data as the calculator above, built on the sources listed higher up on this page, each opened and checked on 26 August 2026 (see how we price), so this page and your estimate can never disagree. Planning this in London? See the London guide, or compare every region in the regional overview. How to pay for it (remortgage, loan or savings) is its own guide: paying for a renovation. Planning an extension or loft? Check permitted development first.

Frequently asked questions

Is it worth painting before selling?

Fresh neutral paint is consistently the highest-return cosmetic job before a sale: modest cost, photographs well, and removes the "project" feel for viewers. Just keep it neutral; buyers repaint taste, not tiredness.

What should I do first?

Three steps, in this order. First, turn the guide range above into your own number: the calculator on this page adjusts for size, finish level and region in under a minute, free and without email. Second, if the layout matters, bathrooms and kitchens especially, draw the room to scale in the free planner; moving plumbing is usually the biggest hidden cost, and you want to know that before anyone quotes. Third, get at least three itemised quotes and compare them line by line against your range before you commit; the quote check on this site gives you an honest verdict per quote.

Do these prices include VAT?

Yes, all ranges include 20% VAT. New builds and some energy-saving works can qualify for 0% or reduced VAT; ask your installer whether your project applies.

How much does the region matter?

A lot: London typically runs 20 to 35 percent above the national average (this site plans with +25%, the quarter mentioned above), and the North of England, Scotland and Northern Ireland sit 10 to 20 percent below. The calculator adjusts for your region automatically, and the regional overview shows every factor.

How accurate is this range?

It is a guide range from national 2026 cost guides, adjusted for finish level and region. Real quotes vary per trade, property and specification; treat it as a starting point, budget 10 to 15 percent contingency, and always get at least three itemised quotes.