RenovationStart

What do new windows and doors cost in London?

In London: £630 to £1,300 per window or door at mid-range, or around £5,000 to £10,000 for 8 windows and doors, against £500 to £1,000 per window or door nationally. Per window or door, budget starts around £440 and premium runs to £2,100. Set the number, finish and region below, no email required.

New double-glazed windows being fitted

What the sources say

Checkatrade, Double Glazing Costs: £500 to £1,250

uPVC casement per window (average £1,000); replacing all windows in a 3-bed house £8,000-15,000. The guide does not state its VAT treatment. Guide dated 2026-05, opened and checked 2026-08-26.

MyJobQuote, Double Glazed Windows Cost: £350 to £600

uPVC casement fully fitted; whole 3-bed house £4,000-16,000 depending on material. The guide does not state its VAT treatment. Guide dated 2026-07, opened and checked 2026-08-26.

MyBuilder, House Renovation Cost Guide: £400 to £2,500

windows/doors per unit line in the renovation cost table. The guide does not state its VAT treatment. Guide dated undated, opened and checked 2026-08-26.

The national range at the top of this page is chosen inside the spread these guides publish, with 20% added where a guide states its prices exclude VAT. Where guides disagree, both figures stay visible above so you can judge for yourself.

1. What are you planning?
3. Finish level

Renovating outside the UK? These figures will not fit. France · Spain

Windows & doors, mid-range, London

£5,000 to £10,000

Ask each trade whether VAT comes on top. An indication, not a quote: prices vary per trade and property.

Take it further

Nothing here is saved unless you ask. With a free account you can keep this estimate and come back to it later.

Where a guide says its prices exclude VAT, I added 20%. Most guides don't say, so ask each trade whether VAT comes on top. A trade under the £90,000 VAT threshold is often not registered and then charges none.

On top of whatever you agree with a builder, set aside a contingency of 10% for the unforeseen: surface-level work with little opening up; the lower end of the guidance range is usually enough. How much contingency you need explains the guidance.

What drives the price

  • Material: uPVC is the budget anchor; timber and aluminium carry the premium.
  • Size and opening style: bays, sashes and doors price differently from casements.
  • Glazing spec: double is standard; triple and acoustic glass add per unit.
  • Installation access: upper floors and conservation details add labour.

All figures come from the same validated 2026 price data as the calculator above, built on the sources listed higher up on this page, each opened and checked on 26 August 2026 (see how we price), so this page and your estimate can never disagree.

Outside London? See the national guide, or compare every region in the regional overview. How to pay for it (remortgage, loan or savings) is its own guide: paying for a renovation.

Planning an extension or loft? Check permitted development first.

Frequently asked questions

How many windows should I replace at once?

Whole-house replacement gets a better per-window price than one-by-one, and one installation visit. But mixing is fine: many owners do the weather-beaten side now and the rest later. The calculator prices any number of units.

What should I do first?

Three steps, in this order. First, turn the guide range above into your own number: the calculator on this page adjusts for size, finish level and region in under a minute, free and without email.

Second, if the layout matters, bathrooms and kitchens especially, draw the room to scale in the free planner; moving plumbing is usually the biggest hidden cost, and you want to know that before anyone quotes. Third, get at least three itemised quotes and compare them line by line against your range before you commit; the quote check on this site gives you a verdict per quote.

Do these prices include VAT?

Not for certain. Where a guide says its prices exclude VAT, I added 20%. Most guides don't say, so ask each trade whether VAT comes on top. A trade under the £90,000 VAT threshold is often not registered and then charges none. New builds and some energy-saving works can qualify for 0% or reduced VAT; ask your installer whether your project qualifies.

Why is London so much more expensive?

Labour is the driver: London trades charge roughly 25% above the national average, and parking, access and waste logistics add friction. Nationally this project runs £500 to £1,000 per window or door, or around £4,000 to £8,000 for 8 windows and doors; the calculator switches region in one click.

How accurate is this range?

It is a guide range from national 2026 cost guides, adjusted for finish level and region. Real quotes vary by trade, property and specification; treat it as a starting point, budget 10 to 15 percent contingency, and always get at least three itemised quotes.